Full Site View
Quick Links
  My Bulletin
  Contact The Bulletin

Groene at the Legislature: Holding NRDs responsible

Groene, colleagues short-sighted on NRD funds

More opinion

Ag News

NFU urges smooth, transparent transition to Fair Trade framework

New interim executive director named for state brand committee

More Ag News

NorthPlatte Weather

Email Article | Print Article
News - State/Regional News
NSP Troopers honored by MADDTell North Platte what you think
Courtesy Photo­Image
Justin Buhlke

Seven Nebraska State Patrol troopers were honored May 23 with hero awards from Mothers Against Drunk Driving, including Tpr. Justin Buhlke of Troop D in North Platte.

This is the third straight year Buhlke has been honored by MADD for adult DUI enforcement. He was nominated by Lt. Buck Boje.

Justin's brother, Tpr. Brandon Buhlke of Troop E in Scottsbluff, was also honored.

This is the 18th annual year of MADD Hero awards. MADD was founded by a mother whose daughter was killed by a drunk driver, and has become the nation’s largest nonprofit working to protect families from drunk and drugged driving, as well as underage drinking.

The NSP troopers were recognized by MADD for their “relentless work in removing impaired drivers from Nebraska roadways,” said Col. Brad Rice, the superintendent of the Nebraska State Patrol.

MADD recently spoke out about a driver who plowed into a sidewalk full of pedestrians in Times Square on May 18, killing an 18-year-old woman and injuring her sister and 21 others. The driver was allegedly impaired by drugs.

“Our hearts go out to the victims and their families and all of those impacted by this horrific crash,” the group said in a news release. “There is no excuse to ever drive while impaired by any legal or illegal drug and put the lives of innocent people at risk.”

MADD’s attitude toward driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is that it is a “100 percent preventable crime.”

Each year, MADD honors law enforcement officers for their daily work to keep drinking and drugged drivers off Nebraska’s roads.

The troopers listed below were recognized by MADD for their dedication and commitment to the safety and well-being of the citizens of Nebraska, NSP spokesman Cody Thomas said.

Trp. Jeremy Thorson - Troop A Omaha

Trp. Raymond Johnson - Troop B Norfolk

Trp. Justin Buhlke - Troop D North Platte

Trp. Brandon Buhlke – Troop E Scottsbluff

Trp. Mike Thorson, John Lukesh and Tyler Kroenke - Troop H-Lincoln


Like this story to send to your facebook

The North Platte Bulletin - Published 5/25/2017
Copyright © 2017 northplattebulletin.com - All rights reserved.
Flatrock Publishing, Inc. - 1300 E 4th St., Suite F - North Platte, NE 69101
Show me Talk Back during this visit